Fraud Alerts
February 19, 2013 - The Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) is urging Wisconsin business owners to exercise caution if they receive a request for information from a company called Corporate Records Service. Business owners are being asked to fill out an Annual Minutes Form and submit a fee of $125 to a mail box with a Madison, WI address. Businesses are not required by DFI or any other state agency to complete the form. For more information please read the Wisconsin Satewide Information Center's Daily Bulletin.
------------------------------------------------
November 13, 2012 - We have become aware of a telephone phishing attempt in the area using texting. According to our customer support team, we have had a few calls from customers this afternoon reporting receiving text messages regarding their debit cards. The text has a call back number 1-410-505-5045, which when called instructs the customer to enter their 16 digit debit card number. As a general guideline, be highly suspicious anytime you are requested to provide personal information over the phone if you did not initiate the call or transaction.
It's also a good reminder :
- Never offer personal or account information over the phone without verifying the caller's identity.
- If you are uncertain of the identity of a caller, hang up and initiate the call yourself using a known phone number.
- Do not call any phone number received in a voice message, text message or email asking for personal information. It could lead you to a phony answering system.
For additional information regarding Phishing and Identify Theft visit our online resource center.
If you believe you've been a victim of this or any scam please contact us immediately at 800-667-4401.
------------------------------------------------
January 2012: Fraudulent cashier's checks have been circulating the area. Click here for an example of what to look for to protect yourself from becoming a victim.
---------------------------------------
November 2011: FinCEN has reported that an email appearing to come directly from the 314 Program Office was sent out on or around November 2, 2011.
Please note: the 314 Program Office did not send any type of notification and it is very important that any recipients do not try and access the link within the email or enter any login or password information.
It's always important for users to check for the SSL Certificate sign when access the 314(a) Secure Information Sharing System, and it is also encouraged to verify the internet address bar to make sure it reflects https://www.fincen.gov/314a/
-----------------------------------------
FRAUD ALERT: NACHA has reported a circulation of fraudulent emails that make reference to an ACH transfer, payment, or transaction and contain a link or attachment that infects the computer with malicious code when clicked on by the email recipient.
NACHA itself does not process nor touch the ACH transactions that flow to and from organizations and financial institutions. NACHA does not send communications to persons or organizations about individual ACH transactions that they originate or receive.
Please forward any suspicious emails you receive that appear to come from NACHA to abuse@nacha.org for analysis. Visit www.nacha.org for more information.



